Klima Hero Istock-973809212 Ollo
| News

Two doctoral students of the Helmholtz Center Hereon receive awards

Yuanyuan Shang receives the Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-financed Students Abroad and Katharina Kordubel receives the Early Career Award of the international EuroGOOS conference.

Chinese Government Award

Group Photo Award Ceremony Chinese Government Prize Yuanyuan Shang

Group photo at the award ceremony with the awardees and their supervisors. [Image: Department of Education of the Chinese Embassy in Germany]

Yuanyuan Shang, a doctoral student at the Institute of Hydrogen Technology, received the Government Award for Outstanding Self-financed Students Abroad at the Chinese embassy in Germany on October 13, 2023.

The Chinese government established this award in 2003 to recognize the academic achievement of Chinese students. Each year, 650 young talents who have excelled in their doctoral studies receive this award. It is the highest honor given by the Chinese government to overseas students.

After Yuanyuan Shang successfully completed her studies in material science and engineering in Beijing, she has been working as a doctoral student at Hereon's Institute of Hydrogen Technology since 2019. Her research focuses on reactive hydride composites, recycled hydrogen storage materials from metal waste and on advanced materials for hydrogen storaging.

Early Career Award

Ceremony Early Career Award Katharina Kordubel

Katharina Kordubel receives the Early Career Award at the EuroGOOS Conference [Image: EuroGOOS 2023]

Katharina Kordubel, doctoral student at the Institute of Carbon Cycles, has received the Early Career award for the best oral presentation at the 10th International EuroGOOS Conference.

The conference took place in Galway, Ireland, from October 3 to 5, 2023. The prize was awarded for her presentation on “Resolving the bloom dynamics and ecological role of Noctiluca scintillans in the southern North Sea”.

Katharina Kordubel's interest and research at the Hereon Institute is in the diversity and ecology of phytoplankton and on how different environmental factors affect their collective structures, their spatio-temporal distribution and their influence on marine food webs.

We congratulate both doctoral students for these special awards!

Yuanyuan Shang

Doctoral student

Institute of Hydrogen Technology

Phone: +49 (0)4152 87-2687

E-mail contact

Katharina Kordubel

Doctoral student

Institute of Carbon Cycles

Phone: +49 (0)4152 87-2230

E-mail contact

Jakob Haese


Communication and Media

Phone: +49 (0)171 5143740

E-mail contact