Technologie Hero Istock-1448230207 Wengen Ling

Integrated infrastructure initiative for neutron scattering and muon spectroscopy


Project timeline
January 2004
54 months
June 2008
General Information
The Integrated Infrastructure Initiative for Neutron Scattering and Muon Spectroscopy (NMI3) comprehensively integrates all aspects of neutron scattering and muon spectroscopy in Europe. It will be a cornerstone of the European Research Area, making significant contributions to the science research base that underpins European technological development. The NMI3 brings together 23 partners from 14 countries, including 11 research infrastructures, together with other interested organisations. The NMI3 will advance the integration of the field, and the effective use and development of these research infrastructures, by providing: 1) 12 Access activities offering approximately 5000 beam days of access to 150 instruments, for 1700 users who will carry out 900 projects; 2) 8 Joint research activities on enhanced instrumentation and techniques, involving 50 research groups; and 3) 4 Networking activities to widely disseminate the results, expand the user community and plan for the future.
EU-Programme Acronym and Subprogramme AreaFP6-2002-Infrastructure-1, 3.2.1
Project TypeIntegrated Infrastructure Initiative (III)
Contract NumberHII3-CT-2003-505925
Co-ordinatorCouncil for the Central Laboratory for the Research Councils (UK)
Total Eligible Costs (€) Hereon Eligible Costs (€) EC Funding for Hereon (€)
Contact Person at Hereon Prof. Martin Müller, WP, Institute for Materials Research, Phone: +49 4152 87 1268, (initial contact: Prof. Andreas Schreyer, Institute for Materials Research)
E-mail contact
Worldwide Europe

Atominstitut der Österreichischen Universitäten (AT), European Molecular Biology Laboratory (FR), Hahn-Meitner-Institut Berlin GmbH (DE), Instituto Nazionale per la Fisica della Materia (IT), Krakow University of Science and Technology (PL), Risö National Laboratory (DK), Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg (DE), University of Oxford (UK), Uppsala Universitet (SE)

(completed June 2008)

Last Update: 16. April 2021