Hero Default


According to the Hereon statutes, the supervisory board monitors that management activities are appropriate, economically efficient and in conformity with legal norms. Its responsibilities and powers also include:

  • making decisions concerning the research center’s strategy, research policies and financial affairs,
  • deciding on the principles for evaluating the success of scientific and technical work,
  • the authority to issue directives to management and to the scientific technical council in important research policy and financial matters,
  • granting the consent necessary for a number of the research center’s legal transactions.
Members of the supervisory board
  • Ministerialdirigent Dr. Ralf Gebel (Chairman) Ministry for Education and Research
  • Andreas Malzahn (Deputy Chairman) Ministry for Science, Social Affairs, Health, Science and Equal Opportunities, Kiel
  • Deputy Director General Heike Imhoff Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety, Bonn
  • Ministerialrätin Dr. Zage Kaculevski Ministry for Education and Research
  • Leitender Regierungsdirektor Klaus von Lepel Ministry of Science, Research, Equal Opportunities and Sections Hamburg
  • Steffen Weber Ministry of Science, Research and Culture of the Brandenburg, Potsdam
  • Dr. Marcus Beiner Ministry of Science and Culture of Lower Saxony, Hanover
  • Dr. Joachim Krohn Stellvertretender Vorsitzender, Freunde und Förderer von GKSS, Hereon und Hereon
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christina Berger Technical University Darmstadt, Darmstadt
  • O.Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Sabine Seidler TU Vienna
  • Dr. Birgit Hünicke Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon
  • Dr. Nico Scharnagl Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon
  • Dr. Carsten Lemmen Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon